Saturday, January 09, 2021

2020 SA & NT Rural Media Awards

From a record number of outstanding entries, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation’s journalist Kristy O’Brien and News Corp photographer, Tricia Watkinson have taken out the major prizes at the 2020 Rural Media & Communicators South Australian and Northern Territory (RMC SA/NT) Rural Media Awards.

Guests – Elisa Rose & Ian Osterman (Mt Barker Courier) with Tricia Watkinson (News Corp)

Results (Jan 2021)

Showcasing the increasingly multi-skilled nature of rural journalists, not only was Kristy crowned the 2020 SA & NT Rural Journalist of the Year and worthy winner of both the Best Rural Broadcast Journalist for Video/Television and the Best Individual Rural Broadcast Video/Television Story, but she also received noteworthy commendations in several of the photography awards.

From an extremely strong field of 24 entrants, 2020 SA & NT Rural Photographer of the Year Tricia Watkinson presented an outstanding portfolio of story-telling and creative photographs. She was highly commended in all three open categories, plus winning the Best Individual Image in the Production category.

RMC Rural Media Awards Media Release